What’s happening to us!?

In the past few weeks, there have been reports of vigilante ‘superheroes’ in Seattle, Boris telling the protesters at St Pauls to go home, and an octopuss making a home out of an old paint-tin lid. I don’t know if it’s me, but I feel like the world has gone a bit mad. We’re all on the edge of trying to change things, and people are getting uneasy. We are not like the French, with their violent riots, the best we can do here in the UK seems to be a mass stealing of plasma TVs. People want change and they don’t really know how to go about it. I see beggars and big issue sellers on the streets, and the weary commuters getting the train home, wedged in like sardines. The students, the tourists, the single mums pushing their prams through the streets of Lewisham. They all have the same hunger and desire behind their eyes, even though their circumstances differ greatly. They all realise that something needs to happen to alter the course of events which are unfolding all over the world.

Things are changing constantly with the Occupy London movement, and really this is a litmus-paper for the rest of us. What at first I dismissed as ‘kind of pointless’ I now see is slowly but surely starting to bring about an open discussion which will (hopefully) lead to changes. The camp has twice daily meetings which are used to voice opinions and work on their manifesto which will be presented to the media after it has been compiled. A statement was leaked to the Guardian (http://www.guardian.co.uk/uk/2011/oct/28/occupy-london-city-st-pauls) which has caused some protesters to suggest not using the term ‘demands’ in their ideas for a new world.

I know I can’t be the only one who’s feeling a little confused and overwhelmed by all that’s going on recently, someone needs to take a step back and try to make sense of it all. I’ll look at each of these issues in more depth later on, but for now let me sign off by saying that whilst I am a little bemused by recent events, I fully support these baby steps we seem to be taking towards a better way of life.

The writer

x

About Jenny

I'm an adopted Londoner; tried to move away but it called me back. Writer, mental health advocate and food enthusiast. I try to love people and use things, but I love coffee and my desk/writing corner. I'm a member of the motherless daughters club (and fatherless but that's less relevant to my life) and have been blogging my journey through grief, and putting myself back together on the other side. Determined to live life with more purpose and passion. View all posts by Jenny

Leave a Reply

